The other night I had another strange dream. I dreamt that I was in a biker gang. Only I wasn’t your conventional member, I was secretly, an undercover cop. And I was trying really hard not to be found out. I was among them, doing bikerly things and acting all tough when all of the sudden the tattoos on my arm changed and I had the wrong tattoos. Before I had the appropriate tattoos for this particular biker gang. But then, abruptly, I had the wrong tats. This awoke a startling rage in the other bikers. But I woke up before I could find out what happened next. Oh well, another equally strange, equally random dream. And they’re so vibrant too which is why I can usually recall them. I guess I must have watched too much Sons of Anarchy before.

I just spent an entire afternoon studying. This is has become commonplace for me and I’m not complaining one bit. Most of my classes aren’t that difficult at all. But my teachers sometimes use a higher vocabulary than the books and our reading text is especially difficult for me. So my vocab is improving by leaps and bounds. I knew how to read a lot of them before but I didn’t know how to write them.  In December I take the HSK again. This is test to see where your Chinese level is at. I took level 3 last time (there are six levels). I took it a few months before I came to China and I got a pretty decent score on it. This time I’m taking Level  4 which has an additional 600 words of vocab (1205 words total). Most words consist of two characters. But some of the characters are used in more than one word. This all may sound like a lot but it really isn’t when compared with the vast ocean that is the Chinese language. Oh well, I’m happy just to be at the shore, making my way into the depths step by step. Although my Chinese is a hundred times better than it was when I first came here, it still has quite a ways to go before I’m completely fluent. But fluency and beyond is the goal. I plan on studying the Chinese language forever. Or at least as long was whatever my little slice of forever ends up being. That’s the beauty of learning a language, there is virtually no limit to what you can learn. There’s always more to know.

